minervadashwood: (death stranding)
a few days i watched a 70s made for tv movie called 'all the kind strangers.' It was this unweildy film that wavered between thriller and family flick. Probably would've done much better in today's world, what with psychology being much more mainstream and cell phone service. while watching, i wasreally impressed with john savage, plus he looked really familiar so i looked him up.

=
sidebar: his character and one of the younger brothers could totally be childhood merle and daryl dixon


screenshot of the movie all the kind strangers of john savage with blond curly hair, age 20-ish.

=


i realized he was in a lot of movies. none of which i remembered seeing. many of the 'strangers' letterboxd reviews mention 'deer hunter.' so i started watching that last night. there must have been some magic in that film-making, because i sat through 50 minutes of russian-american wedding reception dances (as the characters--and actors! got drunker as the time went on).

=
sidebar: most of my thoughts during this hour were: "they'd never be allowed to make this movie today" "if they did it would be some kind of split screen or intermittent flashbacks" which is honestly a cheap trick in modern cinema. like...nonlinear storytelling is not effective just because it's nonlinear. the non-linearity must contribute to the overall purpose of the film. Like memento Just jumbling things up to make a story complicated is hella annoying (looking at you 2020s The Stand adaptation)

=

it was a real struggle watching john cavazale because he was literately dying of lung cancer while filming the movie, and the "death day" of my close friend who died of lung cancer was a few weeks ago.

anyhow, john savage's face is just mesmerizing, but 'deer hunter' is hella hard to watch in its second hour. so i took a break and decided to to watch 'Hair.' it was fun, with Savage's cute face morphing as the (rather superficial) plot demanded.

then i learned that the film version of 'hair' is not even close to the magnitude of the stage production. so i went searching out stage recordings, which as far as i can tell, aren't available for streaming anywhere. however, i did find a video of raul esparza performing the titular song...shirtless!



now i'm sleepy and in pain, so it's probably time for bed.
minervadashwood: (Default)
Cub reporters for WaPo (pre-Bezos) called their secret informant Deep Throat for decades. One of the more admirable feats of genuine journalism is protecting sources that could be put at risk. For serious journalist's these sources are not the sole way they gather evidence. It's a place to start; journalists confirm through other sources.

Anyway, the final episode of (mothership) Law and Order is titled "Deep Vote" which is nonsensical without the context of Deep Throat. However, this was a really well done episode. It starts with a red herring that turns into a case of mistaken identity and morphs into election fraud. What really made this episode work is that the roadblocks from the prosecutors actually made sense! There was political power at play, and every appeal and motion's decision had a logic to it that is usually absent from the episodes.

This was also Abby Carmichael's swan song as junior ADA, which is a real bummer because I loved her character. Smart, sarcastic, with a deep voice. I also appreciated that Jack didn't talk down to her (she wouldn't let him), like he did with his previous proteges.
minervadashwood: (Default)
Not feeling the best physically tonight. Ankle is acting up something fierce. It just seems to happen randomly. Add that to the other physical ills (constant hip pain, nausea and cramps from menstruation), and it's hard to get much done. I'm in a gaming lull, so I'd like to reflect on what I've been watching.

Anime

Ergo Proxy
Slowly making my way through this anime, which was such a thinky-thought series for the first 12 episodes. It took some mental effort to understand the word and society, and just who was in charge of the whole thing. So--you know--just my thing. :) However, it's a little less that now. There's a romantic subplot which is just boring. It does have a narrative purpose, but the execution is a snoozefest. Dude is in love with a girl who hates him. Ignoring that, I still enjoy the slowly unfolding mystery. I'm just not as eager to watch the next episode, so I go a few days in between them.

Kimi ni Todoke
Watching this one on Sundays with an online friend. We both enjoyed it separately when it first came out. She especially likes it because the main character has some autistic traits. I like it for the slow burn and just how gentle the two leads are with each other. Bonus are the rich friendships among the five mains. They are incredibly layered and empathetic.

TV

Law and Order
Definitely my comfort show at the end of the work day or after i've had to focus on one thing for too long. It's season 11, and I finally like Lennie. I miss Curtis, but Greene is a fine replacement. They had him coming in hot in his first season, but he's calmed down. Turns the manipulation on when he needs to. There's a logic to his actions that didn't exist before.

Are You Being Served
While L&O is an after work comfort, this one is a bedtime comfort. I'm in the mid-seasons now (4th or 5th rewatch). I love Mrs. Slocombe to pieces. I have a personal headcanon that Lucas really cares for her, and they definitely have a thing going outside of work. He just pays so much attention to her! And anyone who's familiar with the series knows that she leaps at any flirtatious attention, so how could they not? Also, during dance productions, Lucas is usually paired up with Mrs. Slocombe (unless he's with Mr. Humphries, which I also enjoy). And Mrs. Slocombe has game, for all the strays she catches. Both the union leaders flirt with her, so does Peacock, and her Greek fiancee.

Last of the Summer Wine
I have tried for years to watch this show. My biggest hurdle the first few times were the accents. Finally found them with subtitles. And then the misogyny and goofiness, I could not stand. I'm more open-minded now, as well as on the other side of 40, so I gave it another go. Somehow, it clicked. I'm in the second season, and i can really understand the humorous malaise, the implicit "What now" that the characters are facing. Meanwhile, there's Compo, for whom the passage of time is unremarkable. I also read that two of the actors were buried side by side, so deep was their friendship. Also, this series has almost all chubby or fat women. One the object of incessant affection. None of the women are written favorably, but that is just the show in general.
minervadashwood: (Default)
holy hell. i just read all of my past posts, and damn did i have some serious depression! 3 years of therapy and a 4-pill cocktail have kept me out of that nihilist landscape for a long time.

let's just go over what i'm into lately.

since the end of march it's been all about the chicago cubs and monster hunter.

the cubs have been my favorite baseball team since childhood. the movie 'rookie of the year' was one of my favorites, and it made the chicago cubs the coolest team ever (to young me, at least). anyway, these days, it takes a pricey subscription to watch them (even for people who live in chicago!). But it brings me joy, so I pay it. I also have learned scorekeeping, which is a asystem of annotations that cover every play of the game. It's a way of memorializing the game, but also lets me track information and see trends. I'm never going to be a stats expert or strategic master, but in this way I can notice things that are important to me.

monster hunter is a game about killing big dinosaur-inspired monsters. it's more complex than that, but i don't want to explain it now. one cool thing is that my pet cat follows me around and helps heal my character. it's the cutest.
minervadashwood: (Default)
just took some pepto for heartburn.

and no wonder. found out today that (1) the oa is canceled and (2) they fucked up my healthcare application again, and now i can't go to the doctor.

which is just wrong. i go through this every year. they think i make the same amount of money every month, but it's not true! i wish the form had a box to tick for 'my caseworker is stupid, please listen to me' but alas.

started a me4 playthrough. the appearance is all messed up so i will have to start again because i can't look at weird for 40 hours.

watching dr. quinn. they are off to boston. without sully! this is wrong. everything in the world is off today. i tell you.

also it is storming. i want to watch it, but it's too dark and i'm naked anyway.

oh, remember that time it wasn't the overdose capital outside my house? and i could go places alone after dark? good times, those.

mr. wilhelm is forbidding michela from doctoring. how dare.

checking in

Aug. 6th, 2019 12:54 am
minervadashwood: (Default)
checking in to ramble at the end of my day.

i had leftover tacos and made a pizza. didn't wash any dishes because my hand has been bothering me a lot.

continued reading HEIDI, which i am enjoying. i only read for a few moments here and there. the silence gets to me, and i need sensory distraction.

managed to find the anime, which is obviously the best adaptation. eps 1-16 are mine now. also found some movies from my childhood.

and wouldn't you know, i went through the equifax stuff and in an anxiety-filled hour tried to freeze my credit and maybe someone may have stolen my identity? i'm not sure yet. i have to get my credit report, but since i froze my credit report, i can't get one. i think that i will have to wait some time before i am mentally ready to look into it.

amazing race is on tv.

when i was 13 i took a trip to new york, but no one on the trip was my friend. i even had a bed to myself because no one partnered with me. on the way back, i kept falling asleep in the middle seat of the back row. the teacher had to make me sit with her or else i would have fallen forward. i did go to sleep again, but not the whole time. i then pretended to be asleep. on that trip i had a walkman, and the only tape i had was Chicago, 21, I think. many parts of that trip are memories i'll hold forever, not all of them negative. it was the first time i'd left home alone. a beautiful trip, really.

however, that's not the first time i went on a trip with no friends, and not the first time i pretended to sleep in front of a teacher so i wouldn't have to speak.

anyway, this reminds me that i was an extremely anxious child. it gets worse in adulthood. there are fewer places to hid and fewer safe spaces. also, i have to be "on" all day at work. school's not like that, or it wasn't. zoning out and doing my own thing was how i spent most of my day. of course, since i'm intelligent, this wasn't a problem. i'm sure that's not the case for everyone.

you know one thing freud tried was stream of consciousness stuff, to write everything a patient thought then analyze it. sometimes this thought of free writing scares me. i'll just go and go and go and nothing makes sense. it's like stirring up mud in a river. yeah, i brought out some thoughts i couldn't see, but now there's so many it's too cloudy to find my way out.

okay.

other things today:

finished amazing race season 14. this is my favorite season. a variety of teams and most of them i liked a lot.

played skyrim. it crashed once. i don't care. it keeps my hands busy without them hurting.

A called and it was nice to talk. home wednesday. i guess that's good. aside from that call i won't have verbally communicated with a human from saturday to wednesday. i barely notice. i don't feel lonely. and that's ok. it's okay to be alone.

bath with homemade salts and exfoliation. cerave lotion once i cooled down.

a little dehydrated. pizza was salty. will try to drink a bottle of water before bed.

this girl is racing with her grandma. season 16. i'll watch that now.
minervadashwood: (Default)
following some advice on journalling to help process my depression and grief.

so 5 things i'm thankful for (this is so hard)
  1. the amazing race
  2. frozen water bottles
  3. madeline the kitty
  4. quilted toilet paper
  5. citalopram
minervadashwood: (Default)
Well I come here in the midst of a depression that overshadows everything. a friend lied to me or betrayed me, i'm not sure which, and as a result my job prospects have shattered. i don't want to explain it; it's too painful to recount again. basically, a person told me i would be great for a job, and when that job was available, she gave it to someone else. i still have a job, but i don't have any hope of getting full time work.

today has been a great struggle. i could barely eat. i did manage to wash my bed linens. my anxiety was so bad last night that i sweat so much everything was soaked by the middle of the night.

i feel like i have a broken heart, honestly, though there is no romance related to this. but it feels like a great loss.

and the shootings have exacerbated my sadness. it seems like as a culture we have little control over our safety, and therefore our freedom. and i feel like i personally have no control over my life now. nothing to look forward to.

i spent the day trying to find something positive to watch. i managed some of dumplin, but like that movie, i've seen every "feel good" show/movie many times. today they couldn't work their magic.

it used to be, on days like this, i would rent movies. there was a great excitement of going to a video rental store, sticking to the cheap "old" releases, finding gems that would let me escape myself.

of course that isn't possible any more. finding a movie is a great labor, an overwhelming labor. algorithms show me what i may like, but it doesn't know what i need in the moment. in the moment i need confined possibility. the magic of happenstance.

there is so much about the world i don't like now. it's so easy to feel overwhelmed. i do. i can barely--on a good day--go to a supermarket. i like stores where i can stand in one corner and see its opposite. anything more is too much. i am confined to home and work. it didn't use to feel this way.

i've been thinking of writing again, and this helps some, but it is hard not to think what about me is USEFUL what about me can i SELL to survive. and that's not art, it's capitalism.

if you read this and have suggestions for positive distractions, pass them along.
minervadashwood: (Default)
like...i remember back in 2003 where long blogs were an almost daily thing for me.

but now i feel like long blogs aren't wanted

but i should do it if i feel like.  even if no one's watching.
minervadashwood: (Default)
i have nothing to say but i'm posting here to stick to the habit of posting.

i miss the anonymity of c. 2002 internet. social media has so much anxiety and pressure attached to it.

i just want to read about my hobbies and maybe make some friends.

but not many places are conducive to that.

i mean even fandom culture is isolationist and gate-keeping.

this is just to say that i haven't been on tumblr and i don't miss it. but i miss the friends i used to have there.
minervadashwood: (Default)
I've been slowly doing Konmari on my clothes. She says to do it all at once, but I just do not have the spoons for that. For instance, doing one drawer of tank tops and a box of books had me aching for hours afterwards (even with painkillers). However, I relish the joy/gratitude process, and it's made the experience more about me than about things, which is affirming.

One thing that is frustrating me is my library situation. I have a number of overdue books, and one is at my parents. Now, I can resolve this situation easily (go to library, turn in what I can, pay fines on everything), but the incompleteness of the process (that one book), is going to bother me. OCPD, but at least it's mild in this situation. Unlike my cooking OCPD: I can't cook a thing unless the kitchen is in perfect order.

Anyway.
minervadashwood: (Default)
I don't have much to say to my family, but I miss them. so every couple of days, i've been posting quotes in our group chat. idk if anyone likes it. no one ever says.
minervadashwood: (Default)
Tea is just not doing it for me, folks.


via GIPHY

Confession

Dec. 31st, 2018 02:01 pm
minervadashwood: (Default)
I've never seen Mulan. But it's on tv now, so...guess I'll watch some of it. I don't expect ADHD brain to tolerate very many commercials, tho.
minervadashwood: (Default)
y'all couldn't find any brothers for this choir

at least they have some in the orchestra
minervadashwood: (Default)
I'm not sure what will be done with this space, but now I have it if I need it.
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 11:58 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios